Blog > Career Talk

CIMA's Professional Qualification is Now CGMA!

The prestigious Chartered Institute of Management Accounting (CIMA) Professional Qualification has undergone a significant transformation. It's now known as the Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) Professional Qualification. What's important to note is that this name change doesn't affect the curriculum, CIMA membership, or the esteemed reputation CGMA designation holders carry. Instead, it serves to establish a globally recognized standard for management accounting.

But here's the fantastic part: The CGMA designation remains a CIMA qualification.

So, what exactly is CGMA?

The Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) designation is the most widely recognized management accounting qualification across the globe. It's awarded to CIMA members upon the successful completion of the Professional Qualification. With this name update, the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants aims to not only make CGMA heard but seen.

How Can You Attain the CGMA Designation?

If you're diligently pursuing your CIMA Professional Qualification, the good news is that you don't need to do anything extra! Just continue your studies, work hard, complete the practical experience requirements (PER), become a CIMA member, and voila! You'll automatically be entitled to the prestigious CGMA designation.

What Does This Mean for You?

Since the only change is in the name, CIMA members will enjoy the same opportunities as before, now with the added advantage of amplified global recognition. As this recognition continues to grow, your opportunities as a CGMA designation holder will broaden, promising a remarkably bright future.

The World Awaits:

CGMA designation holders can now consider the whole world their job market, offering a plethora of international opportunities and job prospects. This designation signifies that you're a trusted business strategist capable of connecting all aspects of business to drive sustainable success. It also demonstrates your unwavering commitment to professional ethics and a code of conduct.

Boost Your Career:

Career progression in accounting and finance is a natural goal. With the CGMA competency framework forming the basis of the Professional Qualification, learners are equipped with the right mix of skills and knowledge that employers highly value. The framework encompasses four skill areas, enriching your technical, business, leadership, and people skills, setting you up to advance your career and stand out from the competition.

Ready to kickstart your CGMA journey?

Take the first step towards earning your CGMA designation by exploring our courses online. Ujuzingo is here to empower your professional journey, offering comprehensive ACCA, CIMA, and AAT courses, and the innovative "Break into Accounting" program. Your success story begins with us! #CGMA #Ujuzingo